A monospace font beauty pageant

I got a note the other day from Sam Block about the Tamsyn font, which is a beautiful little arrangement in a nice array of small point sizes.

Tamsyn’s only shortcoming, and one that Sam pointed out, is that it lacks a lot of the line drawing characters that make things like mc fun to look at. Without them … it’s interesting, to say the least.

Looking at that brings up a couple of other fonts that should get attention. Here’s erusfont, which only has two sizes in Arch but is remarkably clear, even at the smallest.

Personally, I’m a strict Terminus fan.

That, to me, is perfect. Of course, the hard part about fonts is that these days, most are intended for use on a graphical desktop. So short of converting them (somehow), most are trapped under Xorg.

For example, here’s Dina.

Very clean and upright. Dina is cute, but I can’t seem to find a font file that will open in a pure framebuffer terminal session. Of course, there are ways around that.

Here’s another one: GohuFont.

Also clean and straight. This next one is ugly as sin to me: FixedSys.

I don’t see the appeal there, unless I’m looking for something as homage to first-generation MacIntoshes. Here’s Monte Carlo though, which is quite nice.

I could learn to love that. This last one comes in about a thousand different flavors and arrangements: Proggy.

That’s just one of the several thousand that you get in Arch when you ask for the one. It’s like a free buffet.

There are some other fonts that are interesting, if you’re working in a text-only arrangement. Inconsolata is quite attractive, the downside for me being the fact that it seems to be unworkable in a terminal. And I get some smearing here and there.

But I think I’ll stick with Terminus for now. If Tamsyn picks up line-drawing characters I might jump ship, but for now this is the best for me. ;)

15 Responses to “A monospace font beauty pageant”


  1. 1 technologyunit 2011/01/31 at 10:27 AM

    This is sort of related, and perhaps you will have an answer, but In Kubuntu when writing in a post the text decides to do something contrary to system settings. Now I know your main web-browser is textual so you probably don’t see it to often but have you ever had a similar problem? Of Any sort.

    Favorite font: Ubuntu (very origonal)

    thanks

  2. 2 ancientforest 2011/01/31 at 12:54 PM

    I love Terminus, too. Sadly, it does not include some unusual glyphs I require. I’ve actually grown to like:

    -Misc-Fixed-Medium-R-Semicondensed–13-120-75-75-C-60-ISO10646-1

    I’d been curious about Tamsyn. Nice not to have discover for myself that it lacks line art glyphs. Thanks!

  3. 3 aperson 2011/01/31 at 3:24 PM

    I love the droid fonts.

    TIL: Tamsyn

  4. 4 PeterStJ 2011/01/31 at 5:23 PM

    I like Monaco. It is fixed width but still looks too gorgeous for the console, so I use if in my IDE

  5. 5 n2j3 2011/01/31 at 5:43 PM

    I need utf8 in my console fonts so I’ll have to go for Liberation Mono [ https://fedorahosted.org/liberation-fonts/ ]

    A couple of omissions:
    VGA unicode font http://www.inp.nsk.su/~bolkhov/files/fonts/univga/index.html [ugly, but some people love retro]

    and Damien Guard’s Envy A/B/R fonts: http://damieng.com/creative/typography/envy-code-b

  6. 6 Matthew 2011/02/01 at 12:16 AM

    Hmm.. I have been trying to discover how to change console fonts based on your recent post, on my gNewSense (Debian-squeeze-based) system). I found the “consolechars” command which works for changing to pre-loaded fonts, but when trying to use new fonts, the command outputs the error: “read_simple_font(): Bad font file format” Are you using a different command to change fonts? Are there additional steps required to add new fonts?

  7. 8 Ray 2011/02/01 at 2:22 AM

    Just wondering, how old does a computer have to be to be consider old to you?

    • 9 K.Mandla 2011/02/01 at 7:47 AM

      For me? Well, Ray … probably 486 or before. I haven’t even seen a nonworking 486 in years, let alone a working one. I’d love to try to get one working, but I have a feeling it will be a while before I see another. :( Almost sad, that is. …

  8. 10 Scott 2011/02/01 at 3:46 AM

    Hi, thanks for mentioning Tamsyn font. It is still very much in active development. Line drawing characters are coming soon.
    - Scott

  9. 11 Sean 2011/02/01 at 5:03 AM

    Profont is highly recommended. It’s in AUR too.

    http://www.tobias-jung.de/seekingprofont/

  10. 12 scott 2011/02/12 at 4:59 AM

    FYI – I’ve now added line drawing chars to Tamsyn font. Its still what I’d call “beta”, but the feedback has been positive. Next stop: full CP437 and ISO8859-1 coverage, and a version for Mac.


  1. 1 Links 1/2/2011: Android Leaps to #1 Spot; Git 1.7.4, Bangarang 2.0 Released; Fudcon 2011 Reports | Techrights Trackback on 2011/02/02 at 5:38 AM
  2. 2 More vaguely unattached ideas « Motho ke motho ka botho Trackback on 2011/03/03 at 8:50 AM

Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,959,123 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

