Consonance for Arch

Edit: Unfortunately, the images originally included in this post are gone, because of hosting problems in late 2009. My apologies.

I don’t like music managers; I’ve said that many times over, and even made a point of mentioning it in the list of software I prefer. However, I gotta hand it to sacamano_m82, who made a clean little GTK2-plus-C music manager called Consonance.

Right now it has that clean, sparse feel that I really like in software. According to the post, the database is handled by sqlite3, and the dependencies are minimal. Arch users can install directly if you use yaourt; Ubuntu fans will need to work out a few dependencies, but I would suggest using the Arch PKGBUILD as a blueprint.

It has a few bugs to iron out, and it only handles mp3 files right now, but future releases should be very interesting. I’ll be happy if it handles ogg files, and picks up a few more settings, like reopening to the last window dimensions.

Of course, it’s not going to tear me away from Audacious (or AlsaPlayer, for that matter), but it does have potential. If you like music managers, that is. 😀

3 thoughts on “Consonance for Arch

  1. Pingback: Split decision: Goggles Music Manager « Motho ke motho ka botho

Leave a comment