Lightning strikes twice

Some of my posts have gotten rather wordy lately, which I dislike so I’ll keep this one brief. Yesterday I went back to the same secondhand shop where I bought the 560e, and bought two things blindly that turned out to be winners. I know it’s bad form, since not everything is perfectly Linux-friendly, but I’ve been having good luck lately, and the trend continued.

The first was a memory chip found at the bottom of a bin of desktop parts. It has no more markings than “Nr64-16M,” but looked like the right size and dimension for PC66. It turned out to be a 16Mb chip that fits the 560e perfectly, although I really don’t have any more information than that. I should probably run a memory test on it, but thus far it seems to be working. With a total of 32Mb in that machine now, I can start using Debian (or Ubuntu) on it, and not have to worry about ducking the memory requirement.

The other find was a Buffalo LPC3-TX PCMCIA network card, which I intended as a replacement for the sketchy Corega FEther II PCC-TXD card I have been using off and on for two years. I picked it only because the box had no labeling on it newer than “Windows 2000,” and I figured that was a good stab at a 16-bit network card. (No CardBus support in my Pentiums.)

Debian says both cards are axnet-cs compatible, and even more surprising, they both lose network connections when traffic spikes. What I took for a hardware problem with the Corega card shows up in the Buffalo card too, which means the issue lies elsewhere. In any case, I dug the old one out of the trash and its boxing out of my paper recycling, and put it back in the closet.

Aside from that I spent a little time scoping out the used laptops, and have my eye on both an R60e and an X60, with neither machine costing more than US$600. I’m leaning towards Thinkpads these days, and those seemed like the most likely candidates.

See? Nice and short. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Lightning strikes twice

  1. steve

    Those 2 laptops look like great choices. My father-in-law brought a similar specced one for us from Japan (an NEC) and it runs Ubuntu9.10 like greased lightning. Will these be your first DDR2 computers? This laptop is my first dual core with ddr2…

    Reply
  2. PrimoTurbo

    Even $500USD sounds too much, I bought a SL500 Thinkpad brand new from Lenovo (shipped&tax included for $525 CAD – $495 USD)

    Intel Core 2 Duo processor T5870 (2.0GHz 800MHz 2MBL2)
    15.4″ WXGA LED AntiGlare
    Integrated Intel GMA 4500 Graphics
    1GB PC2-5300 DDR2 (1 DIMM)
    UltraNav (TrackPoint and TouchPad), Integrated Camera
    160GB Hard Disk Drive, 5400RPM
    CD-RW/DVD-ROM
    ThinkPad 11b/g III Wi-Fi wireless LAN Mini-PCIe
    6-cell Li-Ion Battery

    Reply
  3. Pingback: More successful networking purchases « Motho ke motho ka botho

  4. Pingback: No, really: The initrd is too big « Motho ke motho ka botho

Leave a comment