FireFTP ftw!

This is only indirectly related to Ubuntu or Linux, so I’ll keep it brief: FireFTP is probably one of the coolest plugins for Firefox I’ve ever seen.

I’ve never liked gFTP; I find it slow, clunky and counterintuitive. It also has some default startup options I think are too obscure to be useful. I only use it begrudgingly, because it seems to be one of the few “working” FTP options for Linux.

At the same time, I use SmartFTP at work, but it is so completely hamstrung by nag screens and built-in sabotage (like eradicating your favorites) that it’s hardly an option there, either.

Since I use Firefox at home and at work, the FireFTP extension is an absolute godsend. Straightforward, easy to figure out and it does the job well. Browser integration is … well, it’s already integrated. It’s open-source, cross-platform and actively maintained. And for the newcomers, it’s even easier than sudo aptitude install — just point Firefox at the extension page, and follow through.

P.S.: Works great in Iceweasel, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 thoughts on “FireFTP ftw!

  1. Derek

    FileZilla 3.0 is included with Feisty!

    The one thing about fireftp that I didn’t like is the fact that it won’t work with drag and drop. It doesn’t work with gftp either.

    Reply
  2. dragonopolis

    Not only does it not work with drag and drop I also found out that it has a 4 GB download limit so I can not download any Linux DVD distros. That was the final thumbs down for me.

    I have been using FileZilla for a while and I haven’t look back.

    Reply
  3. kmandla Post author

    I must be using a different version; mine will drag and drop. I’ll try it at home and make sure it’s not just a quirk of the Windows version I have to use at work.

    Edited: Well gang, I’m not sure if things changed since you tried it last, but I can drag and drop downloads with FireFTP in Firefox 2.0 on Windows XP and with Iceweasel 1.5.0.7 on Edgy. Maybe give it another try? (P.S.: I can’t speak to download size limits. If I find a 4Gb file I want to download, I’ll give it a try and report back. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Reply

Leave a comment