I’d like to thank the Academy. …

It’s been more than a year since I brought home the first of two closely related Pentium laptops, with the goal of really wringing through some of the distributions that claim to be “lightweight.” And in that time, no matter what I did, I never heard a peep out of either machine.

Until today.

Yes, today I solved a puzzle that has confounded and distressed me for well over a year: How to configure an ISA sound card in the 2.6.xx-series kernels. And here is the magic ingredient, for all the world to share.

12 thoughts on “I’d like to thank the Academy. …

  1. Pingback: Links 21/1/2010: GNU/Linux at NZ Government, Haiku+KDE, Firefox 3.6 Out | Boycott Novell

  2. Gusar

    OMG, setting irq and dma numbers… I feel like being back in the DOS days… When every game asked you for these numbers. There was another one in addition to those two, “base address” or something similar, that needed to be set to 220 or 240. Those were the days… of 386 processors with 33MHz…

    Anyway, congrats on getting sound working.

    Reply
    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Yup. I can remember the first game of Quake I ever played I had to give it the irq and dma settings for the sound card. Those were the days … and still can be, I guess. …

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Sound at 120Mhz: The good, the bad … « Motho ke motho ka botho

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      I can … but there’s no information to report. Nothing in /proc/asound/ has anything vendor-related. Let me try a few other things and see if there’s any information hiding in other places. …

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Thank you, Debian « Motho ke motho ka botho

  5. Pingback: Sound’s ironic « Motho ke motho ka botho

  6. Pingback: Arch Linux on a 150Mhz Pentium MMX « Motho ke motho ka botho

  7. Pingback: Some audio success « Motho ke motho ka botho

Leave a comment