urukrama’s tabbed Openbox desktop

I apologize for not posting anything in a while; the new job responsibilities are still taking up most of my time.

However, I did find a slick desktop screenshot from urukrama that I wanted to make a note of. As he explains here, by running tint2 across the top of an Openbox system, then matching the colors appropriately, you can fake a tabbed “desktop,” with the pager taking the place of “tabs.” Here’s the screenshot uploaded to an image hosting service, so you don’t have to sign in to the ‘forums to see it:

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

It’s an unusual effect, the downside being that you (almost, but not really) have to run applications fullscreen to maintain the illusion. I suppose you could run a band across the bottom so you could still access the right-click menu, but as urukrama describes it, you might be better off triggering everything by keyboard commands.

As for myself, I’m not inclined to try it just because … well, just because. I run a 9-pixel border around everthing, so I can get to the right-click menu quickly, but I do admire the idea. Nicely built.

And by the way, urukrama’s blog is a gold mine for desktop customization and beautifying unusual window managers. Click at your own risk; you’ll be busy for days. … 😈

2 thoughts on “urukrama’s tabbed Openbox desktop

  1. Pingback: A “tabbed” desktop « urukrama’s weblog

  2. Pingback: Revisiting the tabbed desktop « Motho ke motho ka botho

Leave a comment