An interview with MetalMusicAddict

Free software spawns more free software, so to speak, and with each new rendition of Linux, another niche is filled and another audience is satisfied. Ubuntu Studio is an Ubuntu derivative aimed at audio, video and graphic enthusiasts and professionals, and now offers a 7.10 release. MetalMusicAddict is among the Ubuntu Studio crew, and a leading contributor on the Ubuntu Forums.

Tell as much as you’re willing about your “real” life — name, age, gender, location, family, religion, profession, education, hobbies, etc.

My name is Cory Kontros. In my 30’s. I live in the States. Recently became a stay-at-home Dad. I’ve had some college but mostly audio engineering training. Besides computer tinkering I’m really into music. I do consider myself a metalhead. 8)

When and how did you become interested in computers? in Linux? in Ubuntu?

I’ve always been “into” computers but never actually had my own until my mid-twenties. I had friends who always had them so I kind of lived through them in a sense. I was more into cars and metal at the time though, so that kept me busy. 😉 I had one friend in particular who was a big BSD guy so he always let me know there was more out there than Apple or Microsoft.

So when I finally got my own box I did tinker with Linux on and off. Always trying to wrap my head around it. I started with Red Hat. Nothing really clicked ’till Warty though. That was it. I was hooked.

When did you become involved in the forums? What’s your role there?

I got into the forums right about the time Warty came out. I try to help when I can, develop little howtos and now get feedback from users of Ubuntu Studio.

Are you an Ubuntu member? If so, how do you contribute? If not, do you plan on becoming one?

Yes I am. I guess I contribute through my work on the forums and Ubuntu Studio.

What distros do you regularly use? What software? What’s your favorite application? Your least favorite?

While like many of us I’m a distro junkie in that I try many, I mostly use Ubuntu proper and its derivatives. (Ubuntu Studio, Xubuntu) I have Debian-Etch on a little project box as well.

Favorite apps: Grip, SSH, GIMP, Inkscape.

What’s your fondest memory from the forums, or from Ubuntu overall? What’s your worst?

Fondest memory … not really anything specific. More the atmosphere of the first year or so of the forums. It had a lot of positivity energy and momentum.

Worst memory … again, not specific. Just more of a downer time when a user named [Edited. — K.Mandla] was around. One of those “poisonous people,” in my opinion.

What luck have you had introducing new computer users to Ubuntu?

Very little. 🙂 I advocate as much as I can but I don’t get preachy. In my home I can force it on people but outside of that most people I’m around are content to just chug along with windows.

What would you like to see happen with Linux in the future? with Ubuntu?

With Linux — unification. To me this is a real stumbling block for new adoption that we can do something about. There are too many distros out there with no purpose other than “I can do it.” Now this always strikes people as odd coming from me, because I have started one. What we feel makes what we do worth it is that we work with Ubuntu/Debian, not branch off and give nothing back. All of our changes are made in Ubuntu/Debian.

We also don’t see ourselves as a “desktop Linux.” We’re a very specific, purpose-built disk with changes and options that aren’t meant for desktop users. This isn’t obvious to most people and we work to make it that way. 😉 I could go on but this is a whole other topic in and of itself. 🙂 To sum up, choice is great, but there can be too much.

With Ubuntu — I hope to see Ubuntu continue to grow its brand recognition and corporate ties to leverage better open-source hardware support. As well as strengthen and grow its developer community to better Ubuntu technically.

If there was one thing you could tell all new Ubuntu users, what would it be?

RTFM!!! (kidding) 🙂 Just that you really have to want to make this switch. If you’re a casual computer user and Windows or Apple works fine for you, great. Use the tools that work best for you. If you do switch realize that it will take some time and patience but it’s worth it and a lot of fun. 🙂

Read more about Ubuntu Studio on the project’s home page and wiki. Ubuntu Studio is having an Ubuntu Open Week session on Saturday, October 27, 2007, at 18:00 UTC. Help is available via IRC at #ubuntustudio on Freenode.

For more interviews with forum members and staff, read Nine Simple Questions.

5 thoughts on “An interview with MetalMusicAddict

  1. Pingback: Host-Service » Blog Archive » Интервью с MetalMusicAddict

  2. Pingback: Unix-архив » Архив блога » Интервью с MetalMusicAddict

  3. Pingback: Lettre Hebdomadaire Ubuntu 63 du 21 au 27 octobre 2007 « Lettre Hebdomadaire Ubuntu

  4. Pingback: Nine simple questions « Motho ke motho ka botho

Leave a comment