nginx makes it easy

I thought for a bit the other day and realized that while I had nfs access between machines, and I had ssh control of one over the other, there was nothing akin to http access between the two. And while it’s rather like setting up a model train set — I can see the fun in it, but it doesn’t really interest me so the novelty wears off quickly — I poked around and set up nginx on an Arch machine.

My previous experiences with setting up Web servers were limited almost exclusively to Ubuntu-driven machines with Apache and so forth, which I only remember as taking quite a while to set up, and being quite educational in the process. In that sense I’m glad I didn’t start with nginx.

Because it barely took a second before the entire business was up and running … so I would have missed out on all that delightful educational value. ;) I installed the nginx package, started the service, created a rudimentary index page, and bang, the entire experience was over. I typed in the address on a second machine, and the page sprung into view like it had been injected into browser with a nail gun.

I know next to nothing about Web servers and php and MySQL and so forth, and I know that installing nginx by itself is hardly more than a baby step toward a full-blown setup, but I was taken aback that it was so easy. I don’t remember what all goes into a LAMP server, but I seem to remember quite a lot more configuration than that.

All that being said it’s hardly my place to make any kind of endorsement, but I can tell you that if I ever have to work with http access in the future, I’m going to probably start with nginx and build on to that. Quick and painless sounds like a good place to start from. ;)

Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,960,707 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

