Windows 7 rumblings

I’ll make this quick and dirty: I have two family members now who have nothing good to report about Windows 7.

One of them has recently started working with Ubuntu, and so in that sense, the dissatisfaction might stem from the obvious contrast between Ubuntu and Windows. However, the other family member is an incorrigible Windows user, but has already made plans to reinstall Vista.

That’s saying something.

I myself have never seen it in action, so I don’t have an opinion on the issue. And I won’t extrapolate beyond the information I can report. I have editorialized over Windows 7 in the past, but I have nothing to add to that. End of post. :twisted:

13 Responses to “Windows 7 rumblings”


  1. 1 reacocard 2010/03/04 at 12:13 AM

    I actually quite like Windows 7. It takes what Vista got right, removes a lot of what Vista got wrong, and adds a couple other nice improvements. Still far inferior to Linux for most of my purposes, but it’s now my preferred Windows variant when I need to use Windows. Given the hardware needed to run it obviously. :/

  2. 2 Onyros 2010/03/04 at 1:51 AM

    I just got a new laptop which came with Windows 7 Home Premium installed, so I gave it a quick spin while it created the recovery discs. I haven’t had that much contact with Vista, but from the little I used it I just don’t get it.

    I couldn’t use that day in, day out. I’m used to something completely different, by now. That’s why I understand people who are used to Windows shying away from trying Linux, it just feels so alien.

    And jeez, I positively HATE the looks. I’ll keep my nLited version of Windows XP for when I really need Windows based software (which is very, very, very rare nowadays), and run it through virtualization.

  3. 3 yoshi314 2010/03/04 at 2:08 AM

    people choosing vista over w7. now that’s unexpected.

  4. 4 A.Y. Siu 2010/03/04 at 5:28 AM

    When I had initially played around with the free version of the Windows 7 release candidate in VirtualBox, I’d found it quite impressive. I didn’t really use it extensively then.

    Recently, at work, though, I upgraded to Windows 7 from XP. Using 7 full-time, I have found most of the “improvements” to be extremely annoying. The only improvement I really like is, when using a limited user account, if you try to make an administrative change, you get prompted to login as an administrator (instead of just being denied access).

    The hover previews on the taskbar are annoying and impossible to turn off (I researched this, and the “solution” didn’t work). You can no longer drag custom shortcuts to the taskbar. I tried to move a custom shortcut to the Start Menu, it wouldn’t let me drag it there. I had to actually cut and paste it to the Start Menu (which has changed to a different directory from where it is in XP), and then I can’t make a keyboard shortcut for it. Apparently Control-Windows-directional key is taken by something else, so if I want to use VirtuaWin to have virtual desktops, I can’t use my old keyboard shortcuts for that. I could complain on and on, but I think you get the jist.

    Basically, everything you got used to doing in XP has all been replaced by terrible “improvements.” Maybe these were also in Vista. I don’t know.

  5. 7 reacocard 2010/03/04 at 8:42 AM

    A. Y. Siu – This is exactly one of the things I disliked about Vista and 7 at first – everything is different. Everything. It took me probably 3-4 months of really using 7 (preceded by over a year of lambasting Vista every time I had to use it) before I was as comfortable in 7 as I was in XP, but now that I’m used to it I do find it’s better overall.

    The hover previews can’t be turned off because they aren’t ‘previews’, they’re an integral part of window switching from the taskbar. If you have multiple windows open from an app, the only way to switch among them from the task bar is to get the ‘preview’ up, which contains thumbnails of each window, and select the window you want there. It’s a conscious design design, I’m not surprised its difficult/impossible to turn off. I’m not sure this is much of an improvement over the XP taskbar, but it’s not any worse once you’re used to it. Similarly, the shortcut thing is an artifact of how Win7′s taskbar has changed how it handles the relationship among applications and windows, though I admit you’d think they could have still left us with a separate quicklaunch area or something for that. The keybinds are taken for some of the new window management stuff probably. Windows-(left|right) are one of my favorite new bindings personally, they’re for the new “maximize to one half of the screen” function you can also get by dragging a window to the far left or right, which is incredibly useful for viewing documents side-by-side on large monitors.

  6. 8 steve 2010/03/04 at 10:30 AM

    From a tech user POV, Win7 is much better than Vista, but how anyone can stand using it for more than a day is beyond me. Why MS thought that completely restructuring the OS wouldn’t upset users (XP -> Vista/7) is beyond me. I was able to find my way around (even in Japanese) because I had the Win7 RC for a while, but for the average user it was a monumental stuff-up of epic proportions. The only reasoning I can think of is that they know 99% of people don’t know anything apart from MS so they wouldn’t suffer any real backlash. I am a Linux devotee of some years but IMO these type of users aren’t ready for Linux, nor is Linux ready for the average user. Ubuntu is the MS of the Linux world. Debian for the win, but it’s “too hard” for most people. IMO most users could be satisfied with an iPhone.

  7. 9 steve 2010/03/04 at 10:35 AM

    What for? It’s not worth stealing.

  8. 10 mulenmar 2010/03/04 at 1:02 PM

    Uh-huh, I’ve used Windows 7 . . . I’ll stick to 98SE2ME with Opera, DirectX 9, and the lastest drivers for my Loseblows needs, thanks. 8~\

  9. 11 lo0m 2010/03/04 at 7:39 PM

    This is really a suprise for me. I work in an MS based IT company as programmer/graphic designer and I followed the 98 > 2000 > XP > Vista > 7 route both as a user and as an administrator and seriously don’t understand why wouldn’t anyone choose Vista over 7.
    Can you provide more details?

    • 12 K.Mandla 2010/03/04 at 8:23 PM

      I can certainly ask. I think for one person it may be issues of usability, which is to say how things are arranged and how they behave. I am unfamiliar with Windows 7 though, so I may be way off the mark.

      The other (the new Ubuntu user) is an ex-MCSE and I think software compatibility may be part of it. I don’t want to guess too much more because I am hypothesizing from conversations, and I probably misunderstand the core reasons.

      I will try to find out though.


  1. 1 wicd is good stuff « Motho ke motho ka botho Trackback on 2010/03/06 at 9:14 PM

Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,959,266 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

