A new mini keyboard

It’s rare that I buy “new” things, because they’re a drudge on the planet and there are usually more than enough leftover secondhand things to stem any urge I might have for shrink-wrapped goods.

But I picked up a new mini keyboard yesterday, at the rough cost of US$30 at a brand-name electronics shop, mostly because it fit the physical dimensions I wanted, and also because, as some people have noted, having an external keyboard is a useful troubleshooting tool.

The context (or should I say reason? or rationale?) was the Inspiron 600m, which I have trundled out of the closet and set up on the desk next to the Thinkpad, while it continues in its role as torrent slave and network storage point. I have no real aspirations for the machine, mostly because it has a long history of hardware errors and one or two current problems that I have no desire to monkey with.

One of those is a row of faulty keys — an issue I circumvent with a little ssh and a whole lot of patience. Lately though, it’s been clear that I would gain a little more use of the machine if I were to actually break down and buy a proper external keyboard.

When I finally buckled, I made one stipulation: Any keyboard I bought would have to sit neatly on the palmrest, so as to not take up any more desktop space. One of the reasons I don’t deal in desktops (aside from shunting them off to new owners) is because they are large and bulky, and that offends my sense of minimalism.

So I measured the palmrest and took those dimensions to the recycling shop, and dug around in a junk bin for a while. The smallest one there would have hung over the edge by about 4 centimeters, and looked like it had been used to wash a dog. So rather than go the secondhand route, I checked a big-name electronics shop in my area, and found this:

That’s a Sanwa SKB-SL10BK, an 83-key Japanese keyboard with USB (and PS/2 overplug) connection, measuring a whopping 225mm x 99mm x 23.5mm. (That’s about 8.9in x 3.9in x 0.9in, for those who need that measuring system.) As you can see, it’s no more obtrusive than an A4-size business envelope, and best of all, doesn’t require extra desk space for a machine that’s already something of a curmudgeon.

As far as typing goes, it’s a bit cramped, but I’m not going to be writing any epic poetry on this thing, so I have no complaints about that. Keys feel good, and I doubt the size makes it any more unusable than the netbooks I saw on sale in the same shop.

And this might be dumb, but now I have the opportunity to use a Japanese keyboard on a machine that only has a US keymap. Bonus.

I still use ssh to manhandle the machine, just because it’s easier to swap terminal windows with a keypress than it is to wriggle around in my chair and bring myself to bear on a separate screen, hunt down the mouse, open a terminal emulator and type in the same command. I am still a slave to convenience.

But this makes things a little easier, if I need to do something directly and quickly. That’s not always, but it is sometimes.

7 Responses to “A new mini keyboard”


  1. 1 vespas 2009/12/05 at 10:11 AM

    I agree, keyboards are something to buy new, if only for the hygiene. They are too cheap to bother… Alternatively, if you are *really* strapped for cash (or maybe OCD with cleanliness :), some say that dishwashers are a quick (if somewhat strange) way to clean keyboards.

  2. 2 Brett D 2009/12/05 at 10:34 AM

    I’m always looking for a keyboard of similar size to go along with an htpc I will build in the future but it will need to be wireless. Most I have found anything close to reasonable have been *quite* pricey or have read reviews of flakey performance and low distance (although this is the case with most it seems).

    I may just resort to setting up a web-based control and use my Palm Pre as the remote for it.

  3. 3 gnufs 2009/12/06 at 2:18 AM

    Is that Microsoft Windows running on the laptop? 0_0

    (If not, a mighty good job you’ve done with your windows theming project you used to blog about.)

    • 4 mulenmar 2009/12/06 at 10:24 AM

      Take a close look at the Taskbar and the Firefox theme — Xfe is running and it’s the Tango theme. It’s definitely Linux — or else a BSD, if I didn’t know better. ;)

  4. 6 Calvin 2009/12/06 at 5:46 AM

    GFS: It is Linux!

    Also, the font of the new guy reminds me of HP for some reason.


  1. 1 Testing a theory of usability « Motho ke motho ka botho Trackback on 2010/06/08 at 8:53 AM

Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,959,647 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

