It’s always the little things, isn’t it?

As an epilogue to my post about Audacity, I thought I’d mention that the simple act of making a voice recording and posting it on the Internet has suddenly won me huge kudos around the office. I was pleased with myself because I did it for free with Linux and without buying $60 in software, but everyone else was overwhelmed with the entire stunt.

Isn’t that always the way it works? Something as easy and obvious as that makes you a superstar. No doubt my coworkers couldn’t have been more impressed if I pulled a rabbit out of a hat or escaped from a straitjacket while submerged in a locked vat of acid.

I remember once, years ago, I smacked an old Macintosh computer on a desktop — thereby reseating the RAM chips, which had wriggled free from their braces because of heat. The machine turned on, started up, and I was practically worshiped as a god.

Car mechanics probably get the same reaction when they reconnect a wire, and suddenly a car starts again. Simple creativity and basic know-how, nothing more. No magic, no university degrees.

All the same, the Audacity trick has scored me big points. I’ll have to see if there are any other tasks I can perform that might result in fame and fortune. Like, I don’t know … breathing or something. :roll:

Leave a Reply

