I didn’t know I could do that

Press CTRL+ALT+F1 for a tty screen.

Hold down ALT.

Press the left and right arrows.

Has that always been there?! How come nobody ever told me about that? :evil:

What’s great is if you don’t have X running and you just hold the keys down. You get this really freaky strobe effect that is bound to trigger seizures in a certain proportion of the population.

4 Responses to “I didn’t know I could do that”


  1. 1 MaNRo 2007/08/24 at 9:41 PM

    Hey, neither do I!

    Thanks for the tip ;)

    Regards,
    MaNRo

  2. 2 bapoumba 2007/08/24 at 10:35 PM

    I actually did, found out ages ago when I had problems with X-sessions in warty. I handled it with lynx in one tty and the reconfigure in the other one (I was very new to all of this). Since then I always set up centerICQ and irssi, just in case. Thanks for reminding me I have not done it yet on this computer ^^

    This is also when I discovered nano, which I use almost exclusively.

  3. 3 chris 2007/08/25 at 6:50 AM

    CTRL-ALT-F1 through F6 will give you different ttys. F7 will put you back at your X session (if you’re running X).

    I didn’t know you could cycle through them with ALT and the arrow keys, though.

  4. 4 chris4585 2008/03/09 at 4:28 AM

    i have a very funny story about this post, reading the title, and reading just the fisrt bit, i hit ctrl+alt+f1 without thinking.. i go into a tty no biggie.. how the crap do i get out??! well thanks to my knowledge of the terminal i was able to download weechat (i love weechat) and connect to freenode to ask how to get out of it, and i got a answer and thank god for cli based irc clients phew


Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,962,770 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

