Yet another shameless product endorsement

I mentioned a digital camera in a previous post; the ancient Canon Digital ELPH S100 I had been using for years (no, really: years) was retired to ebay when I moved to Japan. So I found a Digital IXY 10 at a local electronics shop (Best でんき, if you must know ;) ) and splurged.

It’s been a very long time since I had a new digital camera (or any “new” electronics, really), and I’m very happy with this one. Luckily my hiragana was strong enough to decipher the Japanese settings menu, and I managed to switch it over to English in the first minute or so (I’ll switch it back when my kanji includes the characters for “Automatic focus and red eye reduction” :roll: ).

But I have to admit that I really like it. 7.1 megapixels, 3x zoom. I get nice, sharp pictures out of it, and there are onboard slide show and movie options too. I notice that I get something like 200+ photos on a 512Mb SD card at the highest resolution and lowest compression, and that’s far more than I ever expect to take without dumping the card.

The viewpanel is 2.5 inches (I think, I’m eyeballing it there), and the picture there is likewise sharp and clear. I also like the radial dial for navigating the menus. The S100′s old left-right controls were counterintuitive for things like the panel zoom or moving through pictures.

So in all, I’m a fan. The only downside? I believe it’s a Japan-only model. So don’t go asking your local Target employee for the Canon Digital IXY 10. :D

1 Response to “Yet another shameless product endorsement”



  1. 1 One week at 100Mhz: Hardware hopscotch « Motho ke motho ka botho Trackback on 2009/02/22 at 9:18 PM
Comments are currently closed.



Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,963,759 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

