Jamendo killed my mp3 collection

After careful deliberation I decided to pull the plug on about 30Gb of music I’ve been hoarding for the past few years. Yes, most of it was illicit — although I did rationalize by telling myself that I did, in most cases, buy those albums at least once, a long time ago.

But to be honest, it wasn’t worth it to me to keep them any longer. I can think of about four albums out of around 300 that I actually listened to with any frequency. The others were rarely in use, and that’s a rather liberal way of putting it.

Add to that the fact that most of the music I listen to now is downloaded from Jamendo, and is perfectly legal and free. I spend more time listening to Revolution Void or Fonetik or Vate than Bob Marley or Public Enemy. So why in the world was I keeping it all?

It’s Ubuntu’s fault, really. If I hadn’t gotten started on the free software ride, I wouldn’t have any compunctions about stolen music. What’s 300 stolen albums when you’ve collected $2000+ in stolen software?

All that aside, I opened PCManFM this morning, highlighted all the stuff I don’t listen to, and pressed the delete key. It’s gone, and to be honest, I don’t miss it.

7 Responses to “Jamendo killed my mp3 collection”


  1. 1 lkratz 2007/03/21 at 2:01 AM

    Hi from Luxembourg !

    I really like you blog entry, we are very happy you found music you like on Jamendo.

    We are working on http://www.oggtheworld.org : another small front end to jamendo more dedicated to linux (ubuntu ;) ) users.

    I’d really like to link this page to ubuntu forums !


    Laurent

  2. 2 gunnix 2007/03/21 at 12:31 PM

    Heh nice link! Had already thought there should be a network with free music only… and now I see it’s there! :)

    I also like this free music:
    - Attila the stockbroker: http://www.small-axe.com/attila/

    I also thought of deleting my non free music dir.. Could use the GB’s :)

    greetz, gunnix

  3. 3 the_conley 2007/04/01 at 7:00 PM

    I experienced the exact opposite as you.

    I used to have no music at all. Now I have 150 gigs of music, thanks to Jamendo. That’s nearly 25,000 tracks.

  4. 4 vate 2008/12/03 at 3:44 AM

    thanks for listening to vate!


  1. 1 Freedom Is the Addiction, Ubuntu the Gateway Drug « Ubuntu Blog Trackback on 2007/03/21 at 12:09 AM
  2. 2 Ubuntu | Carthik Sharma: Freedom Is the Addiction, Ubuntu the Gateway Drug Trackback on 2007/03/21 at 1:16 AM
  3. 3 Life at the CLI Trackback on 2007/05/19 at 6:44 PM

Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,963,361 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

