Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound

Usually when people talk about upgrading from Breezy to Edgy, or Hoary to Dapper, I try to talk them out of it. It’s sketchy. Going just from Dapper to Edgy required a fair amount of patience and a great deal of luck. A clean install is just safer, with a liberal backup added for good measure.

So I figured jumping from Hoary to Feisty would be a train wreck. I really figured I’d end up with an unmanageable system, totally warped and colossally screwed.

Well, you can see where this is going: I like to break things, but I’m left disappointed this time. After I ratched down my system with debfoster, I dist-upgraded all the way to Feisty, and it went smooth as silk.

I had a few conflicting packages to work out (something about mesa drivers), but strangely enough, everything boots fine, even if it’s a bit spotty still. The Ubuntulite build I made this afternoon is kind of cobbled together, and not really a complete distro so much as it’s someone’s system zipped up and folded into an ISO. I have some weird startup scripts I would like to track down, and my network still requires a little manual prodding.

But it worked. I jumped from 2.6.10-5 to 2.6.20-9 and I still have a bootable system. I think I’ll put together something graphical, then put it out of its misery. It’s what I call fun, if you can believe that. :roll:

1 Response to “Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound”


  1. 1 Luke 2007/02/28 at 10:24 AM

    I went from Hoary to Dapper few months ago and I had no major issues. Dist upgrade stopped several times complaining about conflicts, and I had to upgrade one or two packages manually (ie, just running apt-get install with the force attribute), but eventually it all went through.

    I’m currently still running Dapper on that machine, and I haven’t noticed any issues whatsoever. I have to say I was impressed with how smoothly it went. :)


Leave a Reply

Welcome!



Visit the Wiki!

Some recent desktops


May 6, 2011
Musca 0.9.24 on Crux Linux
150Mhz Pentium 96Mb 8Gb CF
 


May 14, 2011
IceWM 1.2.37 and Arch Linux
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Some recent games


Apr. 21, 2011
Oolite on Xubuntu 11.04
L2300 core duo 3Gb 320Gb

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 405 other followers

License

This work is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License. Please see the About page for details.

Blog Stats

  • 3,960,871 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

